物理安全

保护人员、资产和基础设施

无论您是代表企业、机构还是城市,您都会意识到需要更好地确保安全,并在公共和私人空间更好地保护人员、资产和基础设施。您现在可能正在执行一些物理安全措施,无论是视频监控、资产管理还是访问控制。

但您知道,还可以在这方面做得更多。您应如何防止资产不翼而飞?您应如何支持 4K 摄像机?经验告诉您,对每台设备的运行而言,电源和以太网是需要解决的问题,特别是在室外时。 Ruckus 可以在这方面为您提供帮助。Ruckus 使用同一网络,既可以为您的客户、员工或公民提供连接,也可以让复杂的室外摄像机部署变得简单,使资产跟踪成为现实,或者让您负担得起无线接入的控制成本。而且,Ruckus 值得信赖的安全生态系统合作伙伴可以提供所有功能和更多。

简化公共场所的复杂性

可以说,像会议中心、机场、体育馆、商场、酒店这样的公共场所拥有最复杂的连接和安全要求。为访客和工作人员提供强大的 WiFi 是这些地方发展的筹码。如果这些地方想要让访客回来并停留更长的时间,那么他们需要提供很多贴心的服务,例如失踪人员跟踪、寻路和更容易的零售交易处理。在幕后,他们需要使用安全摄像机覆盖整个场地范围,拥有强大的访问控制措施,还要以某种方式防止固定资产被盗和受损。一切都需要安全。Ruckus 专注于简化这一复杂性:

  • 与安全供应商协同工作,例如,TrackRKontakt.io 合作,提供资产跟踪和地理定位服务,与PelcoAxis 一起推出高清 IP 摄像机,实现了集成式连接和安全实施。
  • 一系列室内、室外和专用接入点 (AP) 提供卓越的 WiFi 性能,连接人与事物,即使在最具挑战性的条件下也是如此。
  • Ruckus Cloudpath 安全和策略管理软件可以保护每个物理设备 —即使像摄像头和PoS终端这样的物联网设备也不例外。

减少电缆数量

更好的物理安全性会不可避免地转化为使用更多具有更高分辨率的摄像机。购买更多摄像机很容易。但安装更多摄像机却很难。确保有足够的带宽来支持每一台摄像机运行也很难。Ruckus 能够让事情变得简单:

  • 室外接入点,例如 T710,是“全能运动员”,可以提供快速的 PoE 输出,所以您不需要运行第二根电源线,还提供高带宽 Mesh 回程,所以您不必将 Cat5 / Cat6 电缆连接到每台摄像机
  • 交换机,例如低调的无风扇型 ICX 7150,可以为需要以太网连接的摄像机供电,能够提供 PoE 和 PoE + 电源输出。

使用最适合的无线电技术

不是每台安全传感器或设备都在 WiFi 环境下运行。这并不意味着您需要使用独立的BLE、ZWave 或 Zigbee 网络。您也可以使用相同的 Ruckus 接入点来提供良好的 WiFi 覆盖,以便提供连接。

  • 室内接入点,例如 Ruckus R710R610 和 H510,配有 USB 端口,可用于支持一系列物联网连接选项,例如 BLE、ZWave 和 Zigbee。

管理您的资产,减少损失

如果您不知道资产在哪里,其中一些资产必然会消失。Ruckus 提供两种方法来解决这一挑战:

  • Ruckus 智能定位技术 (SPoT) 为 WiFi 客户端设备提供定位。SPoT 附带的资产跟踪应用程序可让您跟踪任何启用 WiFi 的资产,并提供警报,让您知道是否超过预定义的边界。 /li>
  • Ruckus 接入点与来自 TrackR 和 Kontakt.io 的产品一起工作,以低单位成本提供大面积的基于 BLE 标签的资产跟踪。独特的资产识别与 Ruckus 接入点的前沿计算算法相结合,可实时实现资产移动检测,将位置映射到室内-楼层-建筑-校园,并实现细粒度地理围栏。

802.11ac vs. 802.11n

通用无线技术

它意味着什么:

802.11 是由电气和电子工程师协会 (IEEE) 创建的无线标准系列。802.11n 是较旧的 WiFi 版本,发布于 2009 年。它通过多个无线电设备、先进的发射和接收技术改善了之前版本的 WiFi,并可选择使用 5 GHz 频谱,所有这些都转化为高达 600 Mbps 的数据传输速率。

802.11ac 于 2014 年推出,是最新的一代。它增加了更宽的信道,并可以使用多达八个的数据流(“空间流”),它的下行链路使用多用户多输入多输出 (MU-MIMO) 技术,最多可在四个设备上实现同时传输。这些是在之前的标准上进行的更改,产生的最大数据传输速率可超过 3 Gbps,并且在未来甚至会更高。它还专门在更清洁、能力丰富的 5 GHz 频段操作。

您为什么需要注意:

较早的 802.11n 技术现在被广泛部署,并且仍然在许多应用中发挥良好的作用。但是,如果您今天部署无线基础设施,特别是在新的“绿地模式”部署中,802.11ac 无疑是合适的解决方法。您可能听说过真实世界的 802.11ac 吞吐量增益没有达到预期的一些牢骚。对早期产品而言有时确实如此。但被称为“Wave 2”的第二代 802.11ac 凭借成长空间提供了比 802.11n 更大的主要优势。但是,为了最大限度地使用 802.11ac,您需要通过坚实的无线基本面、周到的射频设计和非常好的天线构建解决方案。

802.11ac Wave 2

含义:

802.11ac Wave 2 是最新 WiFi 标准的最新版本。它在第一代 802.11ac 技术的基础上构建,可提供更快的数据传输速率以及一次同时与四个不同客户端(而非一个)同时进行通信的功能。

为何值得关注:

自 2015 年技术面世以来,802.11ac Wave 2 已经成为首选的 WiFi 技术,推出后的两年内实现了两位数的增长。由于无线网速与有线网速不相上下,甚至更快,许多公司现在将其用作连接 LAN 的主要方式。

Ruckus 很早就采用了 802.11ac 技术,推出了一种领先的 Wave 2 接入点和行业首款商用的 Wave 2 室外接入点。今天,我们可以提供市面上最为全面的 Wave 2 产品组合。通过将 Wave 2 功能与我们在智能 WiFi 技术和天线设计方面的技术突破进行整合,我们在世界数千个使用网点创造了超高速 802.11ac 网络连接的奇迹。

资产追踪

位置和分析

它意味着什么:

资产追踪是一种使用 WiFi、射频 ID (RFID) 标签或两者相结合来追踪设备位置的方式。

您为什么需要注意:

许多组织,特别是学校、医院和拥有大型校园的其他机构,拥有大量随时都在移动的昂贵设备。无论是学生和教师使用的平板电脑或笔记本电脑、视听设备、实验室还是临床设备,组织都希望能够知道这些资产位于何处。现代无线技术提供了两种方法可以做到这一点。对于与 WiFi 网络连接的设备,您可以使用 WiFi 位置与定位工具查看它们的位置。对于贴有 RFID 标签的资产,您可以使用类似的工具,这些工具使用蓝牙低功耗 (BLE) 信标跟踪它们。而如果您使用 Ruckus 智能定位技术 (SPoT),这两种方法您都可以做到。只需打开 SPoT 分析仪表板中的定位器功能,输入设备的唯一 MAC 地址,您便可以:

  • 立即查明任何设备的实时位置
  • 查看历史热图,了解设备曾经位于的位置以及在该位置放置的时间长短
  • 针对设备进入或离开某个位置配置警报,以减少盗窃和丢失
  • 支持基于位置的广告、导航和其他服务
  • 在紧急情况下更好地识别用户的位置

BeamFlex 自适应天线技术

性能优化

它意味着什么:

智能、小巧的自适应天线系统含有多个元素,它们能够电子操纵天线性能,从而为与它们通信的每个设备创建最佳天线模式。

您为什么需要注意:

传统的无线天线要么是“全向”的(在所有方向上辐射信号),要么是“定向的”(在一个方向上辐射信号)。而 Ruckus BeamFlex 自适应天线技术则采用更具适应性的方法。BeamFlex 技术能够让 Ruckus 接入点内的天线系统不断感测和优化其环境。 该天线系统可减轻无线电干扰、噪声和网络性能问题,并提高应用流。结果:

  • 增加了性能和覆盖范围
  • 清晰的视频和语音通信
  • 最大化电源效率

BeamFlex+ 可以自适应支持移动设备,增强了 Ruckus BeamFlex 自适应天线技术。除客户端设备位置外,BeamFlex+ 还可以使天线适应客户端设备方向。

波束成形

性能优化

它意味着什么:

波束成形是接入点用来在与其通信的客户端方向上集中无线电信号以获得更好的容量和吞吐量的技术。虽然“波束成形”和 Ruckus 的“BeamFlex”技术听起来很相似,但它们不是一样的东西!

当大多数技术供应商谈论波束形成时,他们的意思是“传输波束成形”(TxBF),它通过内置于接入点芯片的信号处理来实现。相比之下,Ruckus 的 BeamFlex 技术使用智能自适应天线来集中无线电信号。BeamFlex 不是行业标准芯片的一部分。我们增加的该能力在天线水平上发挥作用,而且我们是成功实施它的唯一供应商。

您为什么需要注意:

当接入点将它们的信号直接针对客户端时,信号会更强(吞吐量更好),整体空域更清洁(所有地方反弹的信号产生的干扰更少)。所以,我们都同意,波束成形是一件好事。但一些供应商声称,TxBF 是您所需的一切。这并不完全正确。

传输波束成形需要来自客户端的反馈,这意味着设备必须支持 TxBF 协议才能从中受益,但很多设备并不支持该协议。使用 TxBF 的发射机也不能同时使用空间复用(这是另外一种技术,用来在同一空域获得更多的容量)。

借助 Ruckus 革命性的 BeamFlex 和 BeamFlex+ 自适应天线技术,您可以为所有 客户端带来好处。这样,您的射频频谱会更加清晰,您的网络会提供更好的吞吐量和可靠性。希望同时使用?您可以:除了可以在晶片中实施的任何波束成形技术外,BeamFlex 和 BeamFlex+ 技术还具有额外好处。

Ruckus 园区网技术

性能优化

它意味着什么:

Ruckus 校园网基于开放式标准 IEEE 802.1BR 网桥端口扩展技术,可通过将网络接入、聚合和核心层压缩到一个可以共享服务的域,进而混合使用高级、中级和入门级交换机。

控制网桥和端口扩展器是校园网的构建模块。传统聚合/核心层替换为充当整个校园网技术控制中心的交换机,也就是控制网桥。接入层替换为可以在端口扩展器模式下运行的交换机;这些交换机可以实现 PC、平板电脑、IP 电话和其他接入设备的连接。控制网桥可使用以 IEEE 802.1BR 标准定义的协议与连接的端口扩展设备进行通信。

为何值得关注:

传统的网络效率非常低下且灵活性很差,需要网络团队连接至每台网络设备,以便配置资源、应用配置变更并部署网络策略。

不像传统的三层网络设计,Ruckus 园区网会将网络压缩到一个单独的逻辑设备中。这种设计可以实现集中控制,简化服务部署和管理工作,还可以轻松实现扩展,以应对需求的增长。交换机之间的所有链路随时都处于活动状态,流量可以保持负载均衡。结果:

  • 性能得到优化
  • 弹性增加
  • 网络服务部署更快速

ChannelFly 高级信道选择

性能优化

它意味着什么:

Ruckus 接入点采用 ChannelFly 动态信道管理技术,可在客户端使用的信道开始下滑时将其切换到更好的信道,从而改善了无线性能。

您为什么需要注意:

大多数现代 WLAN 产品可以在客户端信道被干扰或太多设备堵塞时更改信道。但是应在何时切换信道却没有确切的时间点,除非您知道新的信道会实际提供更多的容量。而大多数信道管理策略在预测方面并不是那么出色。ChannelFly 技术评估所有可用信道,以便在其将接入点引向交换机频道之前,测量每个频道可以提供的真实世界容量改善。

ChannelFly 技术最初是为在运营商 WiFi 环境中应用而开发的,而在该环境中,信道高度拥挤。即使在这些密集的公共场所,它也能够在几秒内自动提供接入点和网络容量的多倍改进。

文件

Mesh 网络和 SmartMesh

性能优化

它意味着什么:

如果您认为无线网络应该是…无线的,这种想法并不疯狂。但在传统 WLAN 中,您仍然需要使用线缆连接到每个接入点。在 Mesh 网络中,各个接入点会彼此无线连接。

您为什么需要注意:

谁不希望消除设施对昂贵的以太网布线的需求呢?但若要在企业中实现 Mesh 网络谈何容易。传统上,它需要大量复杂的配置,而且要一直努力确保一致的、可靠的连接。

借助 Ruckus SmartMesh 网络技术,我们已经实现了企业级的 Mesh 网络。相反,导航每个接入点的复杂配置,只需选中复选框。Mesh 便会自动形成。通过我们的 BeamFlex 技术,接入点可以一个数据包一个数据包地动态更改天线模式,以适应条件,并确保连接牢固。企业获得自我形成、自愈 Mesh 网络所需的时间和成本仅为传统无线部署的一半。

OpenG

含义:

OpenG 是 Ruckus 提供的一项技术创新,可在传统宏观网络连接困难的室内环境扩大移动网络覆盖范围和容量。该技术集全新的辅助频谱共享 (CSS) 功能和 small cell 技术于一身,可将经过许可的移动网络连接引入室内环境。在美国,OpenG 解决方案使用联邦通信委员会制定的公民广播无线电服务 (CBRS) 规则中提供的 3.5GHz 频谱。Ruckus 是无线行业 CBRS 解决方案研发、营销和推广领军企业大军中的积极参与者。(按此查看相关发布内容。)

为何值得关注:

移动网络服务一直以来都是采取二者选一的策略:用户在户外连接移动宏观网络,而在移动网络信号较差的室内环境就要依赖 WiFi。如果您曾经在使用手机进行通话的过程中走入办公楼或停车场,您就会了解这一问题的重要性。在许多建筑物中,尤其是新建的建筑,通过许可的无线电频谱提供服务的移动网络信号根本无法渗透至用户需要的所有位置。尤其是建筑物的深入空间,您看到的只能是移动信号的“盲区”、掉线和痛苦不已的用户。

LTE-WiFi 结合技术和 CSS 的兴起改变了一切。通过 Ruckus 提供的 OpenG 等诸如此类的解决方案,服务提供商和企业可以在室内环境部署“中立主机” small cell 解决方案,以便将移动网络连接延伸至其自身无法触及的地方。结果:更好的室内覆盖,用户更加满意,托管无线服务获得新的商业机会。

安全设备加载和 Cloudpath

安全和载入

它意味着什么:

现在已不再是 10 年前;初始启用和加载的无线设备也相对需要高度安全和简单和安装简单。Ruckus Cloudpath 软件让企业、政府机构和教育机构轻松实现安全加载。

您为什么需要注意:

随着数十亿无线设备和新设备进入市场,让人感觉如同身处西部荒原。Cloudpath 让您以快速的自动化方式同时加载 IT 拥有的设备和 BYOD 设备。Cloudpath 于 2006 年发明了自助的 WiFi 加载,并且每年加载数百万的设备。它使用基于标准的安全、强大的加密功能以及以及灵活的策略控制来将企业级安全扩展到即将进入网络的每个设备。

Physical Security

Protecting People, Assets and Infrastructure

Whether you represent an enterprise, institution or city, you recognize the obvious need to better ensure security and to better protect people, assets and infrastructure in public and private spaces alike. You’re probably doing physical security right now, be it video surveillance, asset management or access control.

But you know you could be doing so much more. How do you keep assets from walking out the door? How do you support 4K video cameras? You also know through experience that running power and Ethernet to every device is problematic, especially outdoors.

Ruckus is here to help. The same Ruckus network that provides connectivity to your customers, employees or citizens is also the network that can make a complicated outdoor camera deployment simple, asset tracking a reality, or wireless access control affordable. And Ruckus’ trusted security ecosystem partners can offer all that functionality and more.

Simplify Public Venue Complexity

Public venues—convention centers, airports, stadiums, shopping malls, hotels—have, arguably, the most complex connectivity and security requirements of any location. Solid Wi-Fi for visitors and staff is table stakes. If venues want to keep visitors coming back and staying longer, they need to offer services like lost-person tracking, wayfinding and easier retail transaction processing. Behind the scenes, they need venue-wide security camera coverage, strong access control and a way to protect fixed assets from theft and damage. And everything needs to be secure. Ruckus specializes in simplifying this complexity:

  • Established interoperability with security vendors like TrackR and Kontakt.io for asset tracking and geolocation and Pelco and Axis for high-definition IP cameras enables an integrated connectivity and security implementation.
  • An array of indoor, outdoor and special-purpose access points (APs) provide exceptional Wi-Fi performance to connect people and things, even under the most challenging conditions.
  • Ruckus Cloudpath security and policy management software can secure every physical device—even IoT devices like cameras and point-of-sale terminals.

Cut Your Cable Count

Better physical security inevitably translates into more cameras, with higher resolution. Buying more cameras is easy. Installing more cameras is hard. Ensuring adequate bandwidth to support each of them is hard, too. Ruckus makes it easier:

  • Outdoor APs like the T710 are all-around athletes that deliver blistering speed, PoE-out—so you don’t need to run a second power cable—and high-bandwidth mesh backhaul—so you don’t have to run Cat5/Cat6 cable to every camera.
  • Switches like the low profile, fanless ICX 7150 can power the cameras that do need an Ethernet connection, with the ability to provide both PoE and PoE+ power out.

Use the Radio Technology That Fits Best

Not every security sensor or device runs on Wi-Fi. That doesn’t mean you need a stand-alone Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), ZWave or Zigbee network. You can use the same Ruckus APs that provide great Wi-Fi coverage to deliver that connectivity, too.

  • Indoor APs like the ZoneFlex R710, R610 and H510 are equipped with USB ports that can be used to support a range of IoT connectivity options such as BLE, ZWave and Zigbee.

Manage Your Assets, Cut Your Losses

If you don’t know where your assets are, some of them are bound to disappear. Ruckus offers two ways of addressing this challenge:

  • Ruckus Smart Positioning Technology (SPoT) provides location fixes for Wi-Fi client devices. Included with SPoT is an asset-tracking application that lets you keep track of any Wi-Fi-enabled asset, with alerts to let you know if it’s crossed a pre-defined boundary.
  • Ruckus APs work together with products from TrackR and Kontakt.io to provide BLE tag-based asset tracking over large areas at a low per-unit cost. Unique asset identification combined with advanced edge computing algorithms on Ruckus APs allows asset movement detection in real-time, mapping location to a room-floor-building-campus and enabling fine-grained geofencing.

802.11ac vs. 802.11n

General Wireless Technologies

What it means:

802.11 is a family of wireless standards created by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). 802.11n is the older version of Wi-Fi, launched in 2009. It improved over previous versions of Wi-Fi with multiple radios, advanced transmit and receive techniques, and the option to use 5 GHz spectrum—all of which translate to a data rate of up to 600 Mbps.

802.11ac, introduced in 2014, is the latest generation. It adds wider channels and the ability to utilize up to eight data streams (“spatial streams”) with downlink using multi-user multiple input, multiple output (MU-MIMO) techniques for simultaneous transmission on up to four devices. These are changes over the previous standard that yield a maximum data rate of more than 3 Gbps, and even higher in the future. It also operates exclusively in the cleaner, capacity-rich 5 GHz frequency band.

Why you should care:

Older 802.11n technology is now widely deployed, and still does a good job for many applications. But if you’re deploying wireless infrastructure today, especially in a new, “green field” deployment, 802.11ac is the way to go. You might have heard some grumbling about real-world 802.11ac throughput gains not living up to expectations. And that was sometimes true for early products. But the second generation of 802.11ac—known as “Wave 2”—delivers major advantages over 802.11n, with room to grow. To get the most from 802.11ac, however, you need solutions built with solid wireless fundamentals, thoughtful radio design and very good antennas.

Related Products and Solutions

Videos

802.11ac Wave 2

What it means:

802.11ac Wave 2 is the newest version of the newest Wi-Fi standard. It builds on first-generation 802.11ac technology by delivering faster data rates and the ability to communicate with four different clients simultaneously, instead of one at a time.

Why you should care:

Since rolling out in 2015, 802.11ac Wave 2 has become the Wi-Fi technology of choice, seeing double-digit growth in its first two years after launch. With wireless speeds as fast or faster than wired networks, many businesses now use it as the primary way to connect to the LAN.

Ruckus got in early on the 802.11ac game, offering one of the leading Wave 2 access points and the industry’s first commercially available Wave 2 outdoor access point. Today, we offer one of the largest Wave 2 portfolios on the market. By combining Wave 2 capacity with our technology breakthroughs in Smart Wi-Fi intelligence and antenna design, we’re making the dream of super-fast 802.11ac a reality in thousands of locations worldwide.

Asset Tracking

Location and Analytics

What it means:

Asset Tracking is a way to keep track of a device’s location using Wi-Fi, radio frequency ID (RFID) tags, or a combination of both.

Why you should care:

Many organizations—especially schools, hospitals, and others with large campuses—have lots of expensive equipment that moves around all the time. Whether it’s tablets or laptops used by students and teachers, audiovisual equipment, lab or clinical equipment, organizations want to be able to know where their assets are located. Modern wireless technologies offer two ways to do this. For devices connected to the Wi-Fi network, you can use Wi-Fi location and positioning tools to see their location. For assets with an RFID tag attached, you can use similar tools that use Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) beacons to track them. If you’re using a Ruckus Smart Positioning Technology (SPoT), you can do both. Just open up the Locator feature in the SPoT Analytics Dashboard, enter in the device’s unique MAC address, and you can:

  • Instantly pinpoint any device’s real-time location
  • View historical heat maps of where devices have been and how long they spent there
  • Configure alerts for when devices enter or leave a location to reduce theft and loss
  • Support location-based advertising, navigation, and other services
  • Better identify users’ locations during an emergency

BeamFlex Adaptive Antenna Technology

Performance Optimization

What it means:

Smart, compact adaptive antenna systems containing multiple elements that electrically manipulate antenna properties so as to create optimal antenna patterns for each device with which they communicate.

Why you should care:

Traditional wireless antennas are either “omnidirectional” (radiating signals in all directions) or “directional” (radiating signals in one direction). Ruckus BeamFlex Adaptive Antenna Technology takes a more adaptable approach. BeamFlex technology enables the antenna system within a Ruckus AP to continually sense and optimize for its environment.

This antenna system mitigates radio interference, noise and network performance issues, and improves application flows. The results:

  • Increased performance and range
  • Crystal clear video and voice communications
  • Maximized power efficiency

BeamFlex+ is an enhancement to Ruckus BeamFlex adaptive antenna technology by providing adaptive support to mobile devices. BeamFlex+ enables antennas to adapt to client device orientation in addition to client device location.

Beamforming

Performance Optimization

What it means:

Beamforming is a technique APs use to focus their radio signals in the direction of the clients they’re communicating with to gain better capacity and throughput. And while “beamforming” and Ruckus’ “Beamflex” technology sound similar, they’re not the same thing!

When most technology vendors talk about beamforming, they mean “transmit beamforming,” (TxBF), which is achieved through signal processing built into the AP’s chip. In contrast, Ruckus’ Beamflex+ technology focuses radio signals using smart adaptive antennas. Beamflex+ is not part of the industry-standard chip. We add this capability—which works at the antenna-level—and we’re the only vendor that has successfully implemented it.

Why you should care:

When APs target their signals directly to clients, the signal is stronger (better throughput), and the overall airspace is cleaner (less interference from signals bouncing all over the place). So we can all agree that beamforming is a good thing. But some vendors claim TxBF is all you need. That’s not quite true.

Transmit beamforming requires feedback from the client—which means devices have to support the TxBF protocol to benefit from it, and many don’t. Transmitters using TxBF also can’t use spatial multiplexing at the same time (another technique that’s widely used to get more capacity in the same airspace).

With Ruckus’ revolutionary BeamFlex and BeamFlex+ Adaptive Antenna technology, you can provide benefits for all clients. So your RF spectrum stays much cleaner, and your network delivers better throughput and reliability. Want to use both? You can: BeamFlex and BeamFlex+ technologies add benefit on top of whatever beamforming technology may be implemented in the chip.

Brocade Campus Fabric Technology

Performance Optimization

What it means:

Based on open standard IEEE 802.1BR Bridge Port Extension technology, Brocade Campus Fabric integrates premium, mid-range, and entry-level switches by collapsing the network access, aggregation, and core layers into a single domain that shares services.

The control bridge and a port extender are the building blocks of a Campus Fabric. The traditional aggregation/core layer is replaced by switches that act as the control bridge which is the brain of the complete Campus Fabric technology. The access layer is replaced by switches that operate in port extender mode; these switches provide connectivity to PCs, laptops, IP phones, and other access devices. The control bridge communicates with the attached port extender devices using protocols defined in the IEEE 802.1BR standards.

Why you should care:

Traditional access networks are highly inefficient and rigid, requiring network teams to connect to each individual network devices to provision resources, apply configuration changes, and deploy network policies.

Unlike the traditional three-tier network design, Brocade Campus Fabric collapses the network into a single logical device. This design centralizes control, simplifies deployment and management of services, and scales easily to handle growth. All the links between the switches are active at all times and traffic is load balanced. The results are:

  • Optimized performance
  • Increased resiliency
  • Faster network service deployment

ChannelFly Advanced Channel Selection

Performance Optimization

What it means:

The ChannelFly dynamic channel management technology in Ruckus APs improves wireless performance by dynamically switching a client to a better channel when the one it’s using starts to degrade.

Why you should care:

Most modern WLAN products can change a client’s channel when the one it’s using gets clogged with interference or too many devices. But there’s no point in switching channels unless you know the new one will actually provide more capacity. And most channel management strategies don’t do a great job of predicting. ChannelFly technology assesses all available channels to measure the real-world capacity improvement each one can provide before it directs the AP to switch channels.

ChannelFly technology was originally developed for use in carrier Wi-Fi environments, where channels are highly congested. Even in these dense public settings, it delivers multi-fold improvements in AP and network capacity—within seconds, automatically.

Related Products and Solutions

Files

Mesh Networking and SmartMesh

Performance Optimization

What it means:

You’re not crazy if you think that wireless networks should be… wireless. But in traditional WLANs, you still have to run cables to each AP. In mesh networks, individual APs connect with each other wirelessly.

Why you should care:

Who wouldn’t want to eliminate the need for expensive Ethernet cabling across their facilities? But making mesh networks work in enterprises is easier said than done. Traditionally, it’s required a lot of complex configuration, and it’s been hard to assure consistent, reliable connectivity.

With Ruckus SmartMesh Networking technology, we’ve made mesh networks enterprise-grade. Instead of navigating complex configurations for each AP, just check a box. The mesh forms automatically. And with our BeamFlex technology, APs can dynamically change antenna patterns on a packet-by-packet basis to adapt to conditions and ensure a solid connection. Enterprises get self-forming, self-healing mesh networks at half the time and cost of traditional wireless deployments.

OpenG

What it means:

OpenG is a Ruckus technology innovation that improves mobile coverage and capacity inside buildings, where connecting with conventional macro networks is a challenge. It combines new coordinated shared spectrum (CSS) capabilities with small cell technologies to bring licensed mobile connectivity indoors. In the United States, OpenG solutions use 3.5GHz spectrum under the Citizens Broadcast Radio Service (CBRS) rules defined by the Federal Communications Commission. Ruckus is an active participant in a group of wireless industry leaders working to develop, market and promote solutions utilizing CBRS.

Why you should care:

Mobile service has traditionally been an either/or proposition: users connect to mobile macro networks outside, and rely on Wi-Fi indoors where mobile signals are poorer. If you’ve ever been on a mobile call and walked into an office building or parking structure, you know why that’s a big problem. In many buildings, especially new construction, mobile services that operate over licensed radio spectrum just can’t penetrate everywhere users want them. Especially deep inside buildings, you end up with mobile “dead zones”, dropped calls and frustrated subscribers.

With the emergence of LTE-WiFi convergence and CSS, that’s all changing. Solutions like Ruckus’ OpenG let service providers and enterprises deploy “neutral host” small cell solutions inside buildings to extend mobile connectivity to places it wouldn’t otherwise reach. The result: better indoor coverage, happier users and new business opportunities for managed wireless services.

Secure Device Onboarding and Cloudpath

Security and Onboarding

What it means:

It’s not 2005 anymore; there’s no reason that onboarding wireless devices shouldn’t be highly secure and simple. Ruckus Cloudpath software makes secure onboarding easy for enterprises, government agencies, and educational institutions.

Why you should care:

With billions of wireless devices and new ones hitting the market all the time, it can feel like the Wild West out there. Cloudpath lets you onboard both IT-owned and BYOD devices in a fast, automated way. Cloudpath invented self-service Wi-Fi onboarding in 2006, and onboards millions of devices each year. It uses standards-based security, strong encryption, and flexible policy controls to extend enterprise-grade security to every device coming onto your network.