高等教育

利用安全校園 WiFi 及交換器提升大學生的上網體驗

現今的學生將 WiFi 網路視為一種基本設施,不只是教室內,學生宿舍更是不可缺少網路,其地位已如同電力與自來水一樣重要。舉凡存取需要大頻寬的影片、遊戲、課程教材或社群應用程式,都在學生的校園生活中佔據了極其重要的地位。要讓學生在校園中快樂度過求學時光,勢必得為他們提供家中所能享有的網路連線體驗,使其能流暢使用社群應用程式與行動裝置。

為達成此目標,您的網路必須要能容納及管理數以千計的裝置,避免學生在使用上發生問題而需尋求相關協助,亦須透過教育機構專用的 Access Point 為每間宿舍提供穩定的上網效能,並滿足所有訪客使用大學 WiFi 的需求,同時維護網路安全性。

這些使用需求難免會產生龐大壓力—那種會讓學生在推特上向校長投訴的急迫壓力。但您不必緊張,Ruckus 能提供協助。

打造回家般的舒適體驗

2016 年 RESNET 現況報告指出,有 73% 的業務主管認為,要想吸引並留住學生,「媲美住家」的網路連線品質堪稱至關重要。但是,只有半數學校會限制學生宿舍的頻寬,以求提升學生的使用體驗。

現今的大學生都是出生在數位化時代,早已將高速 WiFi 網路視為理所當然。他們希望能在宿舍中獲得有如自家中的數位體驗,享有超快下載速度,並能自動連線所有裝置。然而,學生一住進校園,反而時常無法連線至 WiFi 網路,甚或無法載入影片或記住他們的密碼,不得已只好反覆向支援中心提交報修單,甚至更糟的是,他們必須自費申請其他網路服務。不必擔心,我們可以解決這些難題。

深入瞭解學生宿舍 WiFi:

輕鬆存取

IT 服務中心受理的案例中,有 40% 為密碼相關問題,校方每年需為每名學生花費 118 美元重設密碼。難道您不想將這些時間跟金錢用在其他更值得的地方嗎?

密碼問題不僅會影響 IT 支援,也會大幅影響學生的使用體驗。學生無不希望能輕鬆安全地連線,在抵達校園時即刻使用個人裝置,甚至過完週末返校時所帶回的新裝置也能順利連線。然而,現實生活並非順遂,因為每次使用校園 WiFi 入口網站都必須重新登入,因此勢必會有連線中斷的時候,而且每 6 個月還必須變更一次密碼。如此一來,學生每天必須登入 10 次以上,甚至無法順利使用裝置。不妨使用 Ruckus Cloudpath ,改為執行容易使用的驗證式解決方案,一舉擺脫處理密碼的諸多煩惱。

深入瞭解 Cloudpath:

隨時隨地在校園內連線

2016 年 RESNET 現況報告指出,83% 校園的 WiFi 訊號僅覆蓋 80% 的校地面積。雖然這已是不錯的進展,但學生必須要能在校園各個角落,使用任何裝置隨時隨地連上網路。

從階梯教室到學生宿舍、從圖書館到學生活動大樓、從戶外中庭到地下室洗衣間,都必須具有完善的 WiFi 網路連線。他們希望能在戶外中庭寫作業,在宿舍內串流播放 Netflix 影片,且不會發生網路中斷的問題。幸好,只要透過 Ruckus 的調適性天線技術,您的 WiFi 基礎架構就能隨時為連線的各種裝置進行最佳化,不斷自動重新設定,以即時解決干擾、高裝置密度及覆蓋率等問題。

深入瞭解在校園內連線的相關問題:

為高等教育提供安全、人性化、可擴充又順暢無比的 WiFi 環境,實屬必要之事。Cloudpath Enrollment System 可讓這一切變得輕鬆容易。 

對於校園能提供可預測且容易連線的 WiFi 網路,人們的期望更甚以往。使用者無不希望網路連線能快速、輕鬆又便利。連線後,他們希望一整年都能順利使用裝置上網,不會出現連線中斷的問題。隨著 WiFi 網路從奢侈品成為合理期許,WiFi 網路連線能力的重要性已然翻倍成長,進而催生「Eduroam」這類無間斷網路服務。同時,由於裝置數量與類型不斷增加,使得 WiFi 網路更加難以在人們心中建立良好的第一印象。 

現今,隨著支援大量未託管裝置的能力成為實務上的標準,全球數百間大學校園相繼採用 Cloudpath 服務來裝載數以百萬計的學生裝置。

Cloudpath ES 可讓安全的 WiFi 網路遍及所有裝置與使用者。此服務擁有簡單而強大的工作流程引擎,適用於幾乎所有使用案例,所有訪客、校友與承包商等人士皆可使用。Cloudpath ES 支援各種訪客存取機制,包括贊助、社交媒體、自訂 OAuth、一次性密碼及憑證等。與傳統訪客伺服器 (放任使用者存取未加密的開放式 WiFi 網路) 相較之下,Cloudpath ES 的獨特之處在於可自動將使用者移至 WPA2-Enterprise 網路。

此外,Cloudpath ES 也支援裝置註冊,讓使用者能透過簡單的機制為遊戲裝置註冊,例如 Xbox™ 或 PlayStation™ 遊戲主機。完成註冊後,該裝置便能取得 WPA2-PSK 無線網路的存取權限,而該存取權會受到 PSK 與 MAC 位址的限制。

Cloudpath ES 具備 Set-It-And-Forget-It 的 WiFi 網路功能,讓 EAP-TLP 成為高等教育提供安全 WiFi 網路的全新標準。該服務提供安全、自動化的裝置週期管理,能進一步簡化可擴充 BYOD 環境的標準型 WiFi 網路運用,其中包括:

  • 將 WPA2-Enterprise 延伸至所有使用者 (包括訪客、校友與承包商),讓每個人都能透過一致的無線管道使用網路。
  • 排除無線網路體驗中,因變更密碼原則所造成的負面影響。
  • 捨棄舊有的 PEAP 協定,並改用新的 EAP-TLS,藉此提升網路安全性,省去每次連線必須快取與傳輸密碼的麻煩。
  • 提供無與倫比的網路可見度,並建立與使用者、裝置和原則相關的報告。
  • 節省必須反覆登入受控制入口網站的麻煩。
  • 提供可輕鬆使用及預測的裝載體驗,為使用者帶來更滿意的 WiFi 服務。
  • 大量降低無線網路相關的故障次數,減少支援成本的支出。
  • 提供經實證的 Eduroam 參與模式。

其他

功能表

手冊

案例研究

白皮書

解決方案概要

資訊圖表

BeamFlex 調適性天線技術

效能最佳化

說明:

這些外型輕巧的智慧調適性天線系統內建多項元件,可透過電力控制天線屬性,進而針對與其通訊之各種傳輸裝置建立最佳的天線陣列。

這項技術為何值得您注意:

傳統的無線基地台天線為「全指向式」(訊號朝各方向發射) 或「指向式」(只朝一個方向發射)。相較之下,Ruckus BeamFlex 調適性天線技術具有較大的調適性。BeamFlex 技術可使 Ruckus AP 內的天線系統持續偵測環境,並進行最佳化。 這套天線系統可消除射頻干擾、雜訊與網路效能問題,並改善應用程式的流量。效果:

  • 提升效能與範圍
  • 影音通訊清楚順暢
  • 能源效率最大化

BeamFlex+ 為 Ruckus BeamFlex 調適性天線技術的強化版,可針對行動裝置提供適應支援。除了針對用戶端裝置的位置調整天線以外,這項新技術更可針對用戶端裝置的傳輸方向加以調整。

Higher Education

Elevate the Student Experience with Campus Wi-Fi

Students view campus Wi-Fi as a utility, not only in the classroom, but especially in the residence hall—as basic as electricity or running water. Accessing high-bandwidth video, gaming, class materials, and social applications is a large part of engaging in campus life. By asking students to spend years at your institution, you need to be prepared to give them the same kind of social, mobile and connected experiences on campus that they have at home.

To do this, you need to onboard and manage thousands of diverse devices without creating headaches for users and the help desk, deliver consistent performance across every dorm room with access points built for education, and accommodate guests using University Wi-Fi, without compromising security.

It’s a lot pressure—the kind that makes students tweet out complaints to the Chancellor. Don’t stress- Ruckus can help.

Home-Away-From-Home

According to the 2016 State of RESNET Report, 73% of business officers consider “at home” quality network connection important to attract and retain students. Yet, only half of campuses limit ResHall bandwidth to optimize the student experience.

College students grew up as digital natives, with access to high-speed Wi-Fi networks regularly. They expect the same digital experience in their dorm that they had at home, with wicked fast download speeds and automatic connectivity of all devices. Instead, students get to campus and consistently lose Wi-Fi connections and can’t load videos or remember their passwords, leading them to submit endless help-desk tickets – or worse, plugging in their own router. Don’t worry - we can fix that.

Learn more about residence hall Wi-Fi:

Hassle-Free Access

40% of IT service desks volume is password related, with an annual cost of $118 per student on password resets. Wouldn’t you like to spend that time and money elsewhere?

Not only do passwords affect IT, they greatly impact the student experience. Students expect to easily and securely connect and use their devices as they arrive on campus and return from a weekend with new devices. Unfortunately, this is not always the case, with campus Wi-Fi portals requiring a login each time there is a disconnect and mandatory password changes every 6 months. This leads to students having to login 10+ times per day or being locked out of their devices. Ditch the passwords and move to a simple certificate-based solution with Ruckus Cloudpath.

Learn more about Cloudpath:

Connect Anywhere on Campus

According to the 2016 State of RESNET Report, 83% of campuses provide Wi-Fi coverage throughout 80% of their campus. While this is immense progress, students need to be able to connect to any device, anywhere on campus.

From the lecture hall to the residence hall, the library to the student union, the outdoor quad to the laundry basement, students expect perfect Wi-Fi. They want to do homework in the outdoor quad and stream Netflix from their dorm room without interruption. Luckily, with Ruckus adaptive antenna technology, your Wi-Fi infrastructure can dynamically optimize for each device connecting to it, continually reconfiguring itself to address interference, high device density, and coverage problems in real time.

Learn more about connections across campus:

Delivering uninterrupted Wi-Fi in a secure, user-friendly, and scalable manner is imperative for Higher Education. The Cloudpath Enrollment System makes it simple. 

The expectation on campus that Wi-Fi connectivity is easy and predictable is higher than ever. Users expect to connect quickly, easily and conveniently. Once connected, they expect their devices to work throughout the year without disruption. As the Wi-Fi network has grown from a luxury to an expectation, the value of WiFi connectivity has multiplied, leading to always-connected options like eduroam. Meanwhile, the number of devices and the types of devices are expanding, making it more difficult to establish a favorable first impression. 

Today, as the de facto standard for supporting large populations of unmanaged devices, hundreds of universities use Cloudpath to onboard millions of student devices around the globe.

Cloudpath ES allows secure Wi-Fi to be extended to all users on all devices. The simple, yet powerful workflow engine enables nearly any use case that one can conjure to include visitors, alumni, contractors and more. Cloudpath ES supports the full range of guest access mechanisms, including sponsorship, social media, custom OAuth, one-time-passwords, vouchers and more. Unlike traditional guest servers that leave these users on unencrypted and open Wi-Fi, Cloudpath ES automatically moves them to WPA2-Enterprise.

Cloudpath ES also supports device registration, providing an easy mechanism for users to enroll gaming devices such as Xbox™ or PlayStation™ consoles. After registration, the device may be granted access to a WPA2-PSK wireless network, wherein access is restricted by PSK and MAC address.

Cloudpath ES, with its Set-It-And-Forget-It Wi-Fi capabilities makes EAP-TLS the new standard for secure Wi-Fi in higher education. Cloudpath ES offers secure, automated, device lifecycle management to simplify the adoption of standards-based WiFi networks for scalable BYOD environments, including:

  • Extend WPA2-Enterprise to all users; including visitors, alumni and contractors for a uniform wireless approach.
  • Eliminate the negative impact of password change policies on the wireless experience.
  • Increase security by replacing PEAP with EAP-TLS, and eliminate the caching and transmission of passwords on every connection.
  • Provide unmatched visibility and reporting related to users, devices and policies.
  • Eliminate captive portal fatigue associated with repeated logins.
  • Provide an easy-to-use, predictable onboarding experience, leading to higher Wi-Fi satisfaction among users.
  • Reduce support costs by significantly decreasing wireless-related trouble tickets.
  • Provide a proven model for eduroam participation.

The Checklist for Campus Network Vendor Migration

Tuesday, February 28, 2017, @ 10:00 AM PST

The promise of 802.11ac Wave 2 Wi-Fi and stackable software upgradeable switches has IT departments considering new vendor platforms, architectures and products. Attend this webinar to learn a checklist of considerations for migrating your campus from your legacy network vendor in a workable, phased approach.

Residence Hall Wi-Fi Solutions for Better Connectivity

On Demand

Students expect a true “home-away-from-home” experience at school - including reliable access to Wi-Fi that simply works on any device. Attend our upcoming webinar to learn how you can deliver the best Wi-Fi in your residence halls, with easy onboarding solutions and IPTV.

Hassle-free Access: Passwords, Pre-Boarding & eduroam

On Demand

How many hours per week do you spend on password-related help desk tickets – especially from incoming freshman? Spare an hour, and listen to this webinar to learn how to rid your campus of password tyranny and simplify secure onboarding.

Campus Networks Can Attract and Retain Students

On Demand

Students use to select which school they would attend based on dining hall food and difficulty of classes. Now, they are picking colleges that allow them to do online homework outdoors and stream Netflix with ease. Attend our webinar to learn about networking solutions that provide the experience students expect.

BeamFlex Adaptive Antenna Technology

Performance Optimization

What it means:

Smart, compact adaptive antenna systems containing multiple elements that electrically manipulate antenna properties so as to create optimal antenna patterns for each device with which they communicate.

Why you should care:

Traditional wireless antennas are either “omnidirectional” (radiating signals in all directions) or “directional” (radiating signals in one direction). Ruckus BeamFlex Adaptive Antenna Technology takes a more adaptable approach. BeamFlex technology enables the antenna system within a Ruckus AP to continually sense and optimize for its environment.

This antenna system mitigates radio interference, noise and network performance issues, and improves application flows. The results:

  • Increased performance and range
  • Crystal clear video and voice communications
  • Maximized power efficiency

BeamFlex+ is an enhancement to Ruckus BeamFlex adaptive antenna technology by providing adaptive support to mobile devices. BeamFlex+ enables antennas to adapt to client device orientation in addition to client device location.