802.11ax

什麼是 802.11ax Wi-Fi?

Wi-Fi 大約每五年就會經歷一次重大變化,而 802.11ax 為 Wi-Fi 最新一代的技術標準,可滿足邁向 10 Gigabit 連線速度的效能不足。新的 802.11ax Wi-Fi 標準可提供更快的網路效能、同時連結更多裝置,並將 Wi-Fi 從盡「最大努力」轉變為決定性的無線技術,成為網際網路連線的實質媒介。802.11ax 預期比上一代 802.11ac Wave 2 增加四倍的容量,部署於裝置密集使用環境,可在更多元使用情況下,為更多同時連線的使用者與裝置,支援更高的服務層級協議 (SLA)。

IDC 技術焦點文件

評估新的 802.11ax Wi-Fi 標準,及其對企業的意義為何。閱讀更多(英文)。

802.11ax 提供了一系列的技術增強功能,來最佳化頻譜效率、提升輸送量,及減少功耗。技術增強功能包括:

OFDMA 與 MU-MIMO

正交分頻多工存取 (OFDMA) 與多使用者多輸入多輸出 (MU-MIMO) 技術,可提升未授權 Wi-Fi 頻譜可靠性和效率。與前幾代 Wi-Fi 相比,OFDMA 讓 Wi-Fi 成為決定性的無線技術,因為裝置以最少競爭持續獲得更多關注。OFDMA 能穩定 Wi-Fi 的性能,特別是在更高密度的環境。

每個 Wi-Fi 頻道都會劃分為更小的子頻道,也稱為資源單位。AP 會決定如何分配子頻道,因為每個個別的 RU (又稱子頻道),都可提供給同時服務的不同用戶端。此技術透過建立更窄的專用子頻道,改善了每位使用者的平均輸送量。除此之外,OFDMA 在支援多種不同使用者 (即 IM、電子郵件或輕型網頁瀏覽與大型下載) 的同時,也提升了頻譜效率並降低延遲。

值得注意的是,OFDMA 與 MU-MIMO 技術彼此互補,以同時服務多位使用者。更具體地說,多個連線傳輸有限的資料時,最適合使用 OFDMA。OFDMA 在所有範圍 (近、中及遠距離) 都很有效,延遲較低,並可用於減少 OBSS 的干擾問題。MU-MIMO 則最適合在滿載流量情況下,服務多位使用者,並於近至中範圍最有效。

上行 MU-MIMO

透過 802.11ax,OFDMA 與 MU-MIMO 能在下行 (從 AP 至工作站) 及 上行 (從工作站至 AP) 中得到支援。必須注意的是,AP 安排了兩個方向的傳輸。這與 802.11ax 之前的網路形成對比 (特別是在上行方向),其資源分配為競爭式,由個別工作站決定適當的媒介與傳輸資料。隨著工作站增加,競爭也跟著增加。

子載波間距與 MAC/PHY 增強功能

利用 802.11ax,可減少子載波間距,從而使可用資料音的數量增加 4 倍,並顯著提高最大 PHY 速率。除此之外,額外的資料音可與 OFDMA 共同協助支援多位使用者。802.11ax 還可利用更多音調或頻道提升頻譜效率、減少額外負荷、增強戶外操作,並以可實現的最高 PHY 速率促進量子跳躍。此外,802.11ax AP 也維持兩個獨立的網路配置向量 (NAV),以避免不當行為與衝突。最後,但同樣重要的是,802.11ax 具備 1024-QAM 星座 (11ac 則是 256-QAM),可提升 25% 的實體資料速率,與其他 802.11ax 技術結合可提供最多 4 倍的容量。

目標喚醒時間

目標喚醒時間 (TWT) 首先於 IEEE 802.11ah 標準中推出,可利用排定的睡眠與開啟 (喚醒) 時間,及 AP 與用戶端間預先協商的喚醒時間,避免用戶端裝置之間的無線競爭。此功能有助於提升使用無線傳輸的效率,並增進用戶端裝置的電池續航力。

Ruckus 博客
802.11ax fundamentals: Target Wake Time (TWT)
Let’s talk about Wi-Fi and the 2022 World Cup
Connecting smart cities with 802.11ax APs
Ruckus targets ultra-high-density Wi-Fi deployments with R730 AP
eSports Wi-Fi FTW!
影片

802.11ax 

一般無線技術

說明:

802.11ax 是最新 Wi-Fi IEEE 無線標準。這項新標準在多方面都有重大進展。  拓展多輸出多輸入 (MU-MIMO) 技術,相較於 802.11ac Wave 2 的四個串流,新標準可同時透過最多八個串流進行傳輸。此外,新標準透過 MU-MIMO 附帶正交分頻多工存取 (OFDMA) 技術,讓每個 MU-MIMO 串流再進一步分為四個串流,使每位使用者的有效平均輸送量大幅提升四倍。

以 1024-QAM 引入新的調變和編碼組合,讓每個封包可傳輸更多資料,提升輸送量。此外,這也改善了實體和 MAC 層的整體效率及電池電源管理。

如果早期的標準有如超市的一個收銀台前排了長長人龍,802.11ac 的 MU-MIMO 則像是增設了四個收銀台,可同時服務四倍顧客。802.11ax 進一步擴增為八個收銀台,服務八倍顧客。有了 OFDMA 之後,現在收銀台可在有空時一次為多位顧客結帳。想想看,如果收銀台可以同時服務多名顧客,當第一位顧客決定回到店內快速拿項商品,收銀台就能先服務下一位顧客。

為何這項技術值得關注:

人潮眾多的體育館或繁忙的機場目前多半都部署了 Wi-Fi,動輒有成千上萬部裝置爭奪頻寬,目前的 802.11ac 標準已不敷使用。802.11ax 可在高使用密度的環境中,將每位使用者的平均輸送量提升 4 倍。

若將最新標準結合 Ruckus 超高密度技術套件,必能協助您提供最佳使用體驗。

Wi-Fi 6

What is Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax)?

Wi-Fi experiences a seismic change approximately every five years – and Wi-Fi 6 / Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) is the latest generation of Wi-Fi that bridges the performance gap towards ten gigabit speeds. The new Wi-Fi standard will deliver faster network performance, connect more devices simultaneously and transition Wi-Fi from a ‘best-effort’ endeavor to a deterministic wireless technology that has become the de-facto medium for internet connectivity. With an expected four-fold capacity increase over its 802.11ac Wave 2 predecessor, Wi-Fi 6 / Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) deployed in dense device environments will support higher service-level agreements (SLAs) to more concurrently connected users and devices with more diverse usage profiles.

Details

Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) offers a range of technical enhancements to optimize spectral efficiency, increase throughput and reduce power consumption. These include:

OFDMA and MU-MIMO

Orthogonal frequency-division multiple access (OFDMA) and multi-user multiple-in multiple-out (MU-MIMO) are techniques that increase reliability and efficiency in the unlicensed Wi-Fi spectrum. In contrast to previous generations of Wi-Fi, OFDMA enables Wi-Fi to become deterministic, as devices consistently receive more attention with minimal contention. This helps stabilize Wi-Fi performance, especially in higher density environments.

Each Wi-Fi channel is divided into smaller sub-channels known as Resource Units. The AP decides how to allocate the sub-channels, as each individual RU (or sub-channel) can be addressed to different clients that are serviced simultaneously. This technique improves the average throughput (per user) by creating a narrower, albeit dedicated sub-channel. Moreover, OFDMA boosts spectral efficiency and reduces latency, while supporting heterogeneous users (i.e., IM, email or light web browsing versus large downloads).

It is important to note that OFDMA and MU-MIMO provide complementary techniques to concurrently serve multiple users. More specifically, OFDMA is best utilized when multiple connections transmit limited amounts of data. OFDMA which is effective at all ranges – close, medium and far – offers lower latency and can be used to mitigate OBSS interference issues. Meanwhile, MU-MIMO best serves multiple user with full buffer traffic and is most effective at close-to mid-range.

Uplink MU-MIMO

With Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), OFDMA and MU-MIMO are supported in downlink (from AP to stations) and uplink (from stations to AP). It should be noted that the AP schedules the transmissions in both directions. This contrasts with pre-Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) networks (especially in uplink direction), where resource allocation is contention-based, with individual stations making the decision to appropriate the medium and transmit data. As stations increase, so does contention.

Sub-carrier spacing and MAC/PHY enhancements

With Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), sub-carrier spacing is reduced, thereby enabling a 4X jump in the number of available data-tones and significantly increasing maximum PHY rates. Moreover, additional data tones help support multiple users in conjunction with OFDMA. Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) also optimizes spectral efficiency with more tones/channel, reduces overhead, bolsters outdoor operation and facilitates a quantum jump in highest achievable PHY rates. In addition, Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) APs maintains two separate network allocation vectors (NAVs) to prevent misbehavior and collisions. Last, but certainly not least, Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) features a 1024-QAM constellation (in contrast to 256-QAM for 11ac), enabling a 25% physical data rate increase that in combination with other Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) techniques offer up to 4x the capacity.

Target Wake Time

First introduced in the IEEE 802.11ah standard, target wake time (TWT) enables scheduled sleep and power-on (awake) times, along with pre-negotiated wake times between AP and clients to avoid on-the-air contention amongst client devices. This helps make air utilization more efficient and enhances the battery life of client devices.

“As part of our test bed, the Ruckus R750 access point validates other devices for Wi-Fi CERTIFIED 6 interoperability.”

KEVIN ROBINSON
VP of Marketing
Wi-Fi Alliance

Ruckus Networks R750 is the world’s first Wi-Fi CERTIFIEDTM 6 Access Point.

Read More

IDC Technology Spotlight Paper

Evaluating the New 802.11ax Wi-Fi Standard and What It Will Mean for Enterprises.

Read More

5 Problems That Impact Wi-Fi Performance In Dense Areas

and solutions Ruckus offers to solve these problems.

Read more

Ruckus Blog

https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/wifiillustra...

802.11ax fundamentals: Target Wake Time (TWT)

Dennis Huang

Read More
https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/worldCUp-600...

Let’s talk about Wi-Fi and the 2022 World Cup

Ruckus Networks

Read More
https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/blog.smart_....

Connecting smart cities with 802.11ax APs

Ruckus Networks

Read More
https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/FinalR730-gl...

Ruckus targets ultra-high-density Wi-Fi deployments with R730 AP

Dennis Huang

Read More
https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/esports3-600...

eSports Wi-Fi FTW!

Ruckus Networks

Read More